The Secret Place before the Public Place!

Posted: March 19, 2014 in Get Close to God, Metaphorically Speaking...

the_secret_place5Forty-sixth in the series Get Close to God

Back when I worked on multifunctional office machines, I learned the value of preventive maintenance.  Those workhorses could copy, print, scan, and fax all day long, week after week.  But if they were not allowed to go off-line long enough for a good cleaning, calibration, and replacement of worn out parts, pretty soon their performance would suffer and they eventually broke down before their time.

We are also multifunctional in our roles as husbands and wives, fathers and mothers, sons and daughters, brothers and sisters, and employees, aren’t we?  We are constantly pushed and pulled in many directions and after a while we begin to wear down.  Some of us are driven by the almighty dollar and some of us try to please everyone but up end not pleasing anyone well. Doing our best is admirable, but if we don’t take scheduled maintenance breaks to let our heavenly Technician clean, adjust our focus and energize us, we will break down before our time.

Serving God and trying to live right is very important, but how many of us prepare properly before we go out?  How many of us just wing it without first putting on the armor of God?  But how can we take up the shield of faith or swing the sword of the Word if we’re not prayed up or filled up with scripture?  Reading your Bible and praying may seem like a counterproductive use of your time at first.  But if you stick with it, you’ll soon acquire a taste for your “daily bread” and your soul will begin to crave for spiritual food.

He that dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. (Psalm 91:1)

I think one of the reasons it’s called the secret place is because so many of us never find it.  Our restlessness keeps us so busy we don’t slow down enough to become restful.  We need to go off-line and get alone with God, rest for awhile and quit trying to figure everything out on our own.  We don’t have to pray long, elaborate prayers.  Sometimes I don’t know how to pray or even have the energy.  That’s when I just sit down with my hands open and relax in his presence. I usually don’t hear or sense anything from the Lord, but that’s OK.  He knows I’m surrendering some time to be with him and I usually come away refreshed and confident to tackle whatever the day will bring because I know he’ll be with me.

We’ve got to dwell in the secret place before we enter the public place.

My quest to know Christ on a personal level is accomplishing at least two things for me.  First, it lifts me out of dependence on apologetics to try and convince me of the reality of God.  The closer I get to him, the more affirmations I receive of his existence, which removes my doubts.  Second, I have found no greater satisfaction in life than seeing God do something through me that I could not do on my own.  My pride wants to pull myself up by my bootstraps, but the only way to real and lasting change is walking with the Spirit.  It is not simply letting go and letting God.  It is shifting my focus and energy from trying to do it all by myself, to seeking God with all my heart before and while I work.  I have found this to be more of a challenge, actually, than just staying busy “doing things for Him.”  Yes, I have to fight my urge to go it alone, but his joy is stronger than pride, trust is stronger than fear, and peace is the glorious result.  This is heaven on earth, a preview of the eternal bliss that awaits us.  Don’t leave home without Him!


Click here for the entire Get Close to God series
Click here to receive new posts from Rob’s Reflections!

Comments
  1. Suanne says:

    How true for everything you said about meeting with the Lord. I’m so ‘busy’ sometimes that I practically throw prayers at the Lord and even at times right in the middle of talking with Him, get distracted and forget I was even praying. I do need to find that ‘place’ of being still and just being with Him. This was absolutely beautiful! Love you Suanne

Leave a Reply

