Why do I go to church?

Posted: July 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

steeple2

Forty-second in the series Get close to God

Going to church is something I’ve done all my life.  I’ve benefited greatly from the instruction, inspiration, and encouragement I have received, but lately I’ve been wondering if I’ve been more of a taker than a giver.  Am I only seeking to be fed or am I willing to be more than a spectator?  I’m not talking about the offering here; most of us know we shouldn’t come to church with a closed fist; “No one is to appear before Me empty-handed.” (Exodus 23:15)

But what is worship on Sunday morning?  Is it something I can stroll into after it’s started as long as I get into my seat before the sermon begins or is it something more than a preliminary, something that I should be on time for to prepare my heart to hear from God?   Or maybe come a little early so I can encourage or pray for someone?  Am I hoping to meet God together with my fellow believers, to bring glory to Him, not only for his goodness to me but in the midst of severe trials? Am I awed to be in the presence of the Lord or am I lukewarm as I enter his house?

Am I just mouthing the words like a robot when I sing “All that is within me bless his holy name” or am I giving it my best shot?  Am I expressing my love and thanks to the Lord my God with all my heart and soul and mind and strength or just going through the motions?  Am I expecting the worship leaders to bless me or do I have some responsibility to shoulder, like blessing the Lord?

Those are a lot of questions, but ones I need to ask myself when I get up on Sunday morning.  If I don’t start my worship as soon as I get out of bed and pray for the upcoming service I will probably be distracted when I get there and be critical of the musicians or the song selections or become detached from my mission, which is to focus on the glorious meeting with my Savior and enjoy the privilege of making music (or least a joyful noise) to the Lord with my Christian brothers and sisters.  I need to “worship God acceptably with reverence and awe.”  (Hebrews 12:28)

When people come to church ready to engage in praise and worship, it’s contagious and a wonderful experience to behold.  I know there are as many styles of worship as there are personalities, but I want the Lord to know that I’m happy to be in his house.  Can he see our love for him on our faces as he looks out on our congregation?  I hope so.

I was glad when they said to me, “Let us go to the house of the Lord.”  (Psalm 122:1)

 

Click here for the entire Get Close to God series


Click here to receive new posts from Rob’s Reflections!

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Amen my dear brother! I have been thinking along those lines myself lately. What do I bring to the body of Christ? Am I noticing when some of my brothers or sisters are not in service or do I pout when no one acknowledges my absence? Do I look around to see if some in the service look to be sad or in pain, or do I simply clap and sing and tap my foot to the music, ignoring their hurt. Do I enter into His gates with thanksgiving REGARDLESS of how I feel? Do I really give God my SACRIFICE of praise?? All words to ponder indeed!

Leave a Reply

