Keep Looking Up!

Posted: April 28, 2013 in Get Close to God, Metaphorically Speaking...

DSC00583
Forty-first in the series Get close to God

My soul clings to You; Your right hand upholds me.  Psalm 63:8

I like to watch my cats, Raya and Sunny, climb trees.  Sometimes they run up trying to get away from something but I also think they do it just because they can, because it’s fun.

It’s amazing how their limber bodies and claws enable them to scale and cling to the limbs so high off the ground.  It makes me nervous when they venture out on skinny branches which give and sway under their weight.  They almost lose their balance as they precariously turn around and walk the tight rope back to the safety of the trunk.

This makes me think of how much farther I can get in my life when I cling to my Creator instead of venturing out on my own.  When I’m afraid, I can climb up into the safety of my Heavenly Father’s lap and find refuge under His wings, high above the problems I left below.  But it’s also fun to see where He takes me when I give Him my hand and He pulls me up to see and experience things I would never have known had I stayed down in my own little world.  It’s amazing how our perspective is lifted when we keep looking up!

Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.  (Psalm 61:2)

 

Click here for the entire Get Close to God series


Click here to receive new posts from Rob’s Reflections!

Comments
  1. Suanne says:

    What a beautiful message. I haven’t told you in a long time how much I enjoy your thoughts and lessons. I feel so uncertain right now, looking at moving, selling our house, looking for a job etc., and what a wonderful reminder to keep ‘looking up’!

  2. Anonymous says:

    Amen big brother!

Leave a Reply

