An amazing tool that gets underused!

Posted: January 20, 2009 in Get Close to God, Metaphorically Speaking...

 Tenth in the series Get Close to God

 

I have at my disposal a tool that can unlock doors, solve problems, heal sickness, and lift your spirit.  In fact, there’s nothing that it can’t do if it’s used correctly.  What kind of tool can do all that?  It’s called prayer.

 

I have been guilty of taking this wonderful tool far too lightly.  I forget that every single prayer is heard and answered every time.  They may not get answered the way I want them to, but I always get everything I need.  Awhile back I came to this realization:

 

If I don’t make time to pray, I lose some power that could have helped me or someone I care about.  When I pray for someone, I may be the only one praying for him/her that day.

 

Do you have any prayer warriors or intercessors?  I’m thinking of one of mine right now who has known me my entire life.  That would be my mother.  She always wants to know what’s going on in my life so she can pray specifically for my needs.  How blessed I am to still have her to care for me so!  My cousin Louie Yilling said that our Aunt Myrtle would “carry your burdens to the Lord in prayer.  The morning when she left this world to go to the Lord I knew within the hour she was gone – even though I lived 800 miles away – because I could feel her “prayer cover” lifting from this world.”

 

Some tools are fun to use, aren’t they?  I love power tools.  I like to saw and drill and blast and smell the wood shavings while enjoying those loud, piercing growls those monsters let loose, which is music to my ears.  I’ll never forget being baptized with transmission fluid when the cover above me finally broke loose.  Yes, I admit I’m a non-recovering home improvement gear head!  I like to browse around in hardware stores and go to car shows just to be around all that stuff.  Guys, you understand, right?

 

The same thing applies to prayer.  Well, sort of.  It’s not just a means to an end.  The very act of prayer itself brings me close to God and enables me to experience a relationship with him.  What kind of friend would I be if I just came to you when I needed something?  A true friend is someone you hang out with.

 

I’m starting to learn that communication with the Lord is not always an intense session of pouring my heart out.  As the reality is seeping in concerning the role of the Helper (mentioned four times in John 14-16) who is my constant companion, I find that it’s more like an ongoing conversation.  It’s thanking God throughout the day for things that go right and asking for his assistance when they don’t.  It’s little words of praise when I see his handiwork, like sunsets or rainbows.  When people that I know come to my mind I bring them before the Lord as well.  I like what Frank Laubach said in one of his journals:

 

“One need not tell God everything about the people for whom one prays.  Holding them one by one steadily before the mind and willing that God may have His will with them is the best, for God knows better than we what our friends need, yet our prayer releases His power, we know not how.”

 

When I was younger and still living at home I used to hear my dad talking in the bathroom by himself with the door shut.  I later found out he was not by himself, after all.  He was having sweet communion with his heavenly father.

 

I’m not a great conversationalist or very good with small talk so “having a little talk with Jesus” does not come natural for me, but that’s OK because a lot of the time I think my prayers toward God, or just experience his presence.  It’s kind of like being in the house with Sharon but not in the same room.  We are together but not together.  We are aware of each other’s presence, even though we’re not speaking face to face.

 

I have been in touch with the Lord while writing this article, asking him to give me some truth to share in a way that might help and encourage you.  I want to be his tool.  I want him to use this blog.  Only then will it be worth reading and only then will it bring glory to him.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not saying I’m speaking for God.  But if he uses just a few of these words to bring you closer to him, then that will make me very, very, happy, indeed!

 

Devote yourselves to prayer, keeping alert in it with an attitude of thanksgiving.  (Colossians 4:2)

 

This is one tool I’m not leaving in the shed…

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. karen says:

    This also reminds me of all of the remote controls that we have for every single piece of electronic equipment in the house! How frustrated I would get trying to find just the right remote for what I needed. I was overjoyed when my husband presented me with a universal remote that worked for everything! How many times have I tried to fix things myself with every tool that I could find just to discover that I only need that one universal tool-PRAYER!

  2. Lewis says:

    Makes me think of my tool kit and the tools in it. It is the same as not having any tools at all if I don’t open the tool kit to utilize the tools. I guess it falls in with: (Jas 4:2) Ye lust, and have not: ye kill, and desire to have, and cannot obtain: ye fight and war, yet ye have not, because ye ask not.

  3. Angie Yilling says:

    Thank you for the reminder to pray for each other!!!

Leave a Reply

