The Lord is my Filter, I shall not be in want.

Posted: January 14, 2009 in Get Close to God, Metaphorically Speaking...

Ninth in the series Get close to God

Tuesday night, January 6, 2009: These last two days at work have been incredibly stressful and frustrating.  It’s a good thing I was able to take the previous two weeks off for vacation and rest up but I’m paying for it now since it created a backlog of network service calls.  A high school with over 100 teachers just beginning the semester can’t log in to make copies or print to their three main networked machines, an accountant wants me to install a new server with Peachtree 2009 (“NOW!”), and I just found out that an optometrist cannot restore the last two years of patient images from a backup system I installed back in 2006.  But wait, there’s more!  Tomorrow night three new couples are joining our small group which makes me excited and apprehensive at the same time, because you never know how 12 people will get along.  Looks like it’s time to pray and remind myself that:

“We know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God.”  Romans 8:28


That’s one of those verses that takes time, sometimes a lifetime to see come true.  But I’ve lived long enough to see the Lord not only deliver people from disasters but carry them through their struggles as well.  The conclusion I’ve come up with is this:

Nothing happens to me that God does not bring or allow into my life. 

Realizing this doesn’t necessarily make things easier, but it replaces some of the panic with peace.  I don’t enjoy going through a trial the Lord doesn’t fix right away, but I now ask him:  “OK, you’ve got my attention, what are you trying to teach me?” instead of  “why me?”  Well, to be honest, I still ask “why?” sometimes, especially when bad things happen to good, innocent, or helpless people who get caught in the cross hairs of evil.  But second guessing God just leaves me frustrated.  All I know is that the Lord has protected and come through for me and people I know over and over again, way beyond mere coincidence.  Even when something horrible does happen to someone, these “victims” usually grow closer to God as a result of their hardships, and somehow something good manages to emerge from them.

I should embrace the blues as well as the blessings, knowing that it’s all for the best, so there’s no reason for fear or worry, just anticipation for deliverance. 

Of course, knowing the distance between my head and my heart is miles apart, applying that attitude is easier said than done.  But putting my well being in the hands of an all powerful God who loves me more than I love myself is a good place to start.  If he doesn’t make the problem go away, then he will be at my side as we walk through the valley of the shadow of death.

The Lord disciplines me sometimes when I bring a problem upon myself, but he helps me clean up my mess, deal with the consequences, and move on.  He even uses my failures to teach me to succeed.

Challenges are the ingredients that God uses to produce growth in me.  I have come to see that if I don’t encounter or attempt anything bigger than myself then I won’t experience or accomplish anything bigger than myself.  When something really awesome happens, I know it’s a God thing and he obviously deserves the credit, not me.

Update: Tuesday night, January 13, 2009:  After two days of struggling at the school, the system now works great, the optometrist’s files were recovered, Peachtree 2009 is now running nicely, and all of us got along great last Wednesday night.  God is good!!!  I didn’t even mention all the other issues he helped me resolve.  Yes, it did take me a week to finish this article!

Here’s some good advice Moses gave to his people just before the Lord parted the red sea:

“Do not be afraid.  Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the Lord will bring you today.  The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.”  Exodus 14:10

So, go ahead, Satan.  Give it your best shot.  But you’re gonna have to go through the King of Kings, first, who is my father, and my filter, and I shall not be in want of anything!

 

Click here for the entire Get Close to God series

Click here to receive new posts from Rob’s Reflections!

Comments
  1. Diane says:

    Providence! A wonderful place to live, isn’t it? Enjoyed the article. Keep looking up and remember you are loved. Diane

  2. karen says:

    What a fantastic analogy! When things aren’t running “right” I need to be sure that I’m using the right filter!

Leave a Reply

